*UPDATED – Call Management, ‘Google Style’ – Free, Useful, RevolutionaryD

11.15.08. Google is not granting access to new beta testers through the Grand Central Website.  It has been several months since they did.  However, you can go to this link

http://www.grandcentral.com/home/reserve

and request to be included in the beta test.  Give it a try!!  I have been using the GC interface and I’m very pleased with all the call management functions.  When Grand Central opens it’s site for ‘production’  use to the masses,  it will revolutionize the way people use their phones.  More soon…   You can read my original post on this subject below.


Grand Central is a company that was purchased by Google about a year ago. It is the greatest new addition to phone management on the market and it’s free! Everyone should check this out. It is currently in Beta but I signed up a long long time ago and, while supplies last, I’ll send you an invitation if you leave a comment asking for one on this article…

When you sign up for Grand Central you get a new phone number. It is the last phone number you will ever need. It assigns you the number and then, through an intuitive GUI, it enables you to forward all your phones so they ring on that single number. You might think, why would I want to do that? It’s a little hard to explain all the advantages but there are many. I’ll do my best to outline the basics but to really understand things you should go to Grand Central’s website and check it out there. For one thing, now all your calls are logged on your computer, so you have a historical database of your incoming calls in a manageable format. It replaces your answering machine so you also have a historical database of all your incoming messages… It allows you to leave ‘group defined’ greetings for the incoming calls that you miss. This means that if you have someone you’ve been dying to get a hold of and you want to tell them something if they get to your answering machine, you can leave a customized message that will play as your announcement just for that phone number. This is a really impressive feature for both business and home use. You can have calls coming from certain numbers sent forward to certain phones. This way, if you always want your Mother to ring your home line instead of your business line you can assign all her phones to ring on your home line! As well, now you only have to remember one number and everyone can contact you via that one number and you set up the rules so when the call comes in it is sent to whatever number you would like it to be sent to. There is even a way to put a web call widget on your blog so anyone can call you and you don’t have to worry about them abusing the number because you have total and complete control when your calls come in! There are a hundred other great things that Grand Central can do to make managing your incoming calls more efficient so check out their website and if you want to give it a try, let me know and I’ll send you an invitation to the beta so you can get your own Grand Central Phone Number!

http://www.grandcentral.com/

7 Responses to “*UPDATED – Call Management, ‘Google Style’ – Free, Useful, RevolutionaryD”

  1. If you have invitations still, and GC is accepting them, I would very much like one to use for a non-profit org. Thx.

  2. Same as above post, if you any invitations left, or know anyone who does I would love to be a part of this beta. While not a non-profit, does a recent college grad count as worthy of one?

  3. The article was very well written and informative. Please extend an invitation for us.

    Thank you

  4. Hey Ethan, I like the site. I’ve been obsessing over Firefox plugins lately and came across your post on the Mozilla site. You’re on my RSS feed so keep up the good work :-) I definitely want to give the Google Call Management a shot if you have any more invites. Thanks

  5. Thanks for the info; if you have any invites I would appreciate sending one this way.
    Cheers!

  6. Everyone,
    Sorry it’s taken me so long to respond to you. I have not been keeping up with my blog as much as I would like lately… Regarding ‘google call management’… Shortly after I wrote that article they stopped giving out accounts. However, you can sign up to be notified via email and reserve yourself a number. I don’t know why they are experiencing such a delay, I’ve been using the service for almost a year and I think it’s the greatest thing. I can screen my calls, leave individual greetings for different people that call in… and it’s performed without a flaw. Sorry to get post something that isn’t available… but I’m certain it will make it’s huge splash in the market soon.

    Thanks,
    Ethan

  7. Hello! How is it going today? It’s only that i enjoy your blog so much, and that i believe you could start getting alot of money using it. I run a couple of thriving blogs that I started earning some money from lately. They are using something called a content revealer widget, that makes visitors fill out a survey inorder to view premium content or to download files that they need. And each time they do a quick quiz i earn around a dollar. Really cool eh..? Been earning much more from this than adsense! Feel free to contact me, or you can check it out through my link. tinyurl.com/yevwfst, Kind Regards, Hennrik B. Hansen

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

