Defragging Your Way to Speed!

kaleidoscope_7I have tested several defraggers and have finally found a product that has won my heart. Ultimate Defrag is fast, it gives you the ability to store data where you want it on your drive, you can schedule, and do pretty much anything you can think of related to the subject of defragging (at least for a single user…) In fact, I have to wonder what the paid version of their product does (I’m thinking that it’s a tool designed for an administrator in charge of managing disk resources…). There are several wonderful things about this product, but there are two things that really stick out for me. First, we’ve all run the Windows defragging software that comes with NT or XP and I’m pretty sure that it’s the same software that came with Windows 3.1 and earlier. When you run that old program you select a drive, hit the ‘defrag now’ button, and wait for, God only knows, how long. I’ve had it take days and sometimes (about 50% of sometimes) it just hangs. But Ultimate Defrag is so much better, it gives you a clear visual that shows how the data is moving on your disk so you know exactly where it is in the process. It’s also much faster, it allows you to structure your defrag (I’ll explain more about ‘structure your defrag below) so you can get the job done in a few minutes. So that’s wonderful improvement number 1 and wonderful improvement number 2 is that it allows me to select where I want to put my data. For those of you who don’t understand what defragging does, and the average user doesn’t and, in my opinion, shouldn’t have to understand such a technical detail, running a defragging program lines up all the data on your disk. Let me explain… when your disk saves data as you are working it doesn’t do it as efficiently as it should because it is doing 100 other things at the same time and it puts your data wherever it makes sense at the time you download it. Therefore, you end up with data scattered all over your disk and between your data there are many spots on your drive that have nothing stored on them. This slows down your disk because when you want to save something large your disk is forced to put it in several of these little spots or someplace where it isn’t convienent to get at quickly and it slows down your computer and it can even cause your hard drive to crash. In fact, I would bet my bonus check, that it’s the most frequent cause of hard drive crashes. OK, now back to the second reason Ultimate Defrag is so freaking great… it allows you to select where you want your data stored. I save a lot of stuff that I don’t use very often, I just like to know it’s there and keep it around and if I do open it up it doesn’t matter if it takes an extra couple of seconds to pull it all together. So I’ve selected to store all my previous data on the inside track of my disk (‘inside’ meaning as close to the center as possible) Your disk can retrieve data most quickly from tracks on the outside of your disk, I want all the new stuff that I will continue to save to populate that area. Now, if I work in the ‘data field’ and I have many large databases that I need to get to on a regular basis, I might select to put that data on the outside of my disk where it could be gathered quickly. The point is, Ultimate Defrag gives me the flexibility to do just that. It’s such an improvement over the old crappy defragger that is part of Windows and it’s so much better than all the other freeware defrag programs I’ve used…, I believe it should be part of the Windows operating system.

Some advice for users like myself. If you’re a user that is a lot like me (not operating with a lot of databases that I need to do queries on all the time and I’m not terribly short on disk space) then you may find some value in reading about how I have used the product. There are several options this product gives you for 112008ultimatedefragrunning a defrag session, I just want to get the job done… and I’m sure you do to… When you open the product you will see a list of 6 ‘types’ of defrags you can run on the left side. I chose Auto, when you open the options you can select what percentage of your ‘frequently used’ data you want to be placed on the outer (faster accessed) tracks of your drive. The greater the percentage, the looser (and more wasteful) your defrag. I’m disk rich right now so I’ve got the slider at 75% over on my left side, on the ‘faster’ end. If I were cramped for disk I would slide it to the right towards the ‘optimize’ end. I did run all the defrag processes offered. The only problems I ran into involved creating an archive. This is not an option in the ‘auto’ defrag so don’t worry about it unless you’ve decided you need more and if you have ventured into that area then you might want to try all the settings but from what I’ve learned I will stay away from the ‘respect the archive’ button (because the program has hung whenever I’ve run the process with that option selected) but I will select the ‘place data close to MFT (the directory table) and respect the folder ini archive.

That’s everything I want to know about defragging and then some and my guess is that you probably feel the same way. Ultimate Defragger makes it as painless as possible. So, go to this site, download and run the product and I bet you find that your system speeds up and you can scratch that todo off your list!

http://www.download.com/UltimateDefrag-Freeware-Edition/3000-2094_4-10582157.html

2 Responses to “Defragging Your Way to Speed!”

  1. Thank you, I’ve just been looking for info about this subject for ages and yours is the greatest I have discovered so far. But, what in regards to the conclusion? Are you positive in regards to the supply?

  2. Having read this I thought it was really enlightening. I appreciate you taking
    the time and effort to put this informative article together.
    I once again find myself spending way too much
    time both reading and commenting. But so what, it was still worth it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

