PC Running Amuck?

Filemon is the utility that I use when I can see that my system’s CPU isn’t stressed and the memory looks available but my system is really slow or it seems like it is always running a lot. Besides CPU and Memory there is another thing that you should take a look at and that is what files are opening and closing on your disk. One time I had installed one of the popular antivirus software packages and I couldn’t figure outfilemon why my system was slow when both my memory and CPU looked like they had plenty of availability. So I booted up Filemon and I immediately found out what was going on. I couldn’t believe the amount of file open and close commands SpySweeper was initiating. It brought my system to it’s knees. I don’t want you to think that I have a total dog of a system. It’s an average system that someone would buy, maybe a little light on RAM with only 512k and I do run more things at once on my machine than the average user but SpySweeper was killing my system with disk accesses and I didn’t know what was going on until I ran Filemon. Now I use Filemon every time I see my system running amuck and I can always get the answer from the utilities I run. Filemon is the probably the best way to tell what is happening to your system. It gives you a window that shows exactly what files are accessed and by what program.

Everyone should keep Filemon on hand, just in case you feel like your system is on a runaway mission and you don’t know what caused it. Filemon is a small program that doesn’t even require an installation. Just download the file, unzip it, and run ‘filemon.exe’ and the secrets will be revealed!

http://www.microsoft.com/technet/sysinternals/Utilities/Filemon.mspx

One Response to “PC Running Amuck?”

  1. i love your blog, please keep it going, i look forward to reading your next post.

Leave a Reply

