What’s Connected to My PC?

CurrPorts is a great program that lets you see what ports you have open and what they are connected to. I’m running this most of the time, mostly because of my own curiosity rather than any real need. I do think it is a good idea for everyone to keep a tool handy that allows you to see what your computer is connected to and gives you the power to kill any of the connections. Have you ever worried that someone with bad intentions was connected to your computer? CurrPorts will show you what ports are open and ifcurrports you run it often enough, you’ll be able to identify a connection that is suspicious. CurrPorts gives you the IP address, tells you if the port is TCP or UDP, gives you the path of the process that is running, and it provides other information that will help you investigate an open port. You can shut down any of the ports by right clicking on them and choosing that option. You’ll be surprised how many different connections your computer maintains. I highly recommend that everyone keep CurrPorts on hand and run it sometimes. It’s good to be familiar with everything that you are usually connected to. It will take a while for you to recognize all the connections that are normal. However, Currports does mark a suspicious connection with a pink highlight and it does provide a way to filter the displayed connections. I’m still working to get mine configured well.

Currports does not need to go through an installation process on your computer. Once you download it, it creates a file with a CurrPorts executable. You can put the file anywhere you want (I still put mine in c:\program files) and run it.

Want more information on Currports, see Nirsoft

Download Currports


One Response to “What’s Connected to My PC?”

  1. First off I would like to say terrific blog! I had a
    quick question which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was curious to know how you center youtself and clear your mind before writing.
    I’ve had trouble clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out.
    I truly do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the
    first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be wasted just trying to figure
    out how to begin. Any recommendations or hints?
    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

