Term ‘Codec’ a Mystery? Download This and Keep it That Way!

CodecInstaller – is the answer for those of us that don’t want to know the technical details behind all the different audio & video formats. We just want to push play on our PC and have it show us the movie. This software will check your system and find out what codecs are there and then bring up a screen that will list the codecs you don’t have and give you the option to install them. I know enough about the subject to know that if I download the Divx and the Xvid packages it will take care of just about all of my video requirements. The interface does provide information on each codec and it tells you if you have it installed or not. In my case, I didn’t have the Ogg Vorbis codec, which is an audio codec that allows me to put more mp3 songs on a disk or in memory. So I was able to fit more songs on my player. However, when I transferred the songs to a disk and I went to play in my 1998 Toyota Landcruiser it wouldn’t recognize the .ogg file format.

There are some issues but the ability to put more data on less space is an important subject and CodecInstaller makes managing those standards much easier for people like me who are not focused on understanding the file standards. It helps me get the most out of my investment in both my media and the systems they are run on. I believe everyone that wants to record music or watch/record movies or other videos online should install the CodecInstaller.

Just so you are not surprised… After you select which ‘codecs’ you want it will download the codec installation packages and they install just like any other software product. So check it out and install the stuff you are missing. It could mean that you can get more songs on your portable music player or you might be able to fit that video you took of your daughter’s play on one CD instead of 2.

codec wave

http://www.jockersoft.com/english/codecinstaller_index.php

Leave a Reply

