GDrive – Google Hard Drive – 2GB, Searchable, Backup Space…

When Gmail really opened up their doors and allowed anyone to sign up for an account I created one for each of my children and another one for me. This meant I had 5 gmail accounts each with 2gb storage limit (total 10gb) and I remember thinking that it would be a real asset if I could use it. I’ve found a freeware program that really makes gmail accounts efficient for file storage. gmaildrive

All you do is install this and it creates a gmail hard drive. So it shows up in explorer as C:\My Computer\GmailDrive. Click that drive and it asks you to login to your Gmail account and you check the box that tells it to keep you logged in. Then you can just drop files on that gmail drive and it takes care of sending them to your gmail address as an email (totally transparent to you) and it works pretty quickly. I have not tried it with super large files, I think Gmails new attachment cut off is 20mg so I’m sure it will not work with a file much larger than 20mg. It does not move the file that is dropped on it, so that file still exists on your PC, it just copies it and sends it to gmail behind the scenes.

I normally wait to write about new freeware until I have the opportunity to test it for a while but this is such an important breakthrough for everyone that I thought I should tell you about it right away. This program will really improve the home user’s ability to backup important files easily and quickly and then having a great way to search for those files on the front end is truly wonderful. The fact that you don’t have to deal with setting up where to save the files to and how to retrieve them or deal with any of part of that is a really wonderful thing. All you have to do is have a Gmail Account, install this program, and start dropping files on it and everything is free of charge to you! I can’t say enough good things about this program and what it means to myself as a home user.

http://www.snapfiles.com/reviews/GmailDrive/GmailDrive.html

ps – If you don’t have a Gmail account yet I really think you should sign up for at least one. Even if you don’t plan on using it for email, you should grab it for the space. You’ll also have access to blogger and picassa (photo storage) and a whole bunch of other Google stuff (Google Groups, Google Reader (newsreader)…. Just go to www.gmail.com and sign up… it is quick, easy, and very beneficial.

7 Responses to “GDrive – Google Hard Drive – 2GB, Searchable, Backup Space…”

  1. The idea is brilliant! But I already have a portable hard disk so I don’t think I need it.
    Anyways, thanks for sharing =)

    • how did you succed to copy all your google email in an exterior drive=
      thanking you in advane
      Wonderful Regards

  2. Very Good++

  3. I need it,coz I want more GB every day!
    Thanks

  4. chathuranga chandima Says:

    my web storage

  5. Ok, Auto clicker is a small tool that help me well….

    […]GDrive – Google Hard Drive – 2GB, Searchable, Backup Space… « Today’s Best of Breed[…]…

  6. Actually when someone doesn’t be aware of then its up to other viewers that they will assist, so here it occurs.

Leave a Reply

